Bailey Brothers Records Collection, 783 THL

Scope and Content: This collection contains two account books, an invoice book, and a sales book of Bailey Brothers’ General Merchandise in Winchester, VA, USA. Also included are correspondence and an IRS form belonging to W.A. Bailey. These materials span from 1920 to 1942. (1 box) Last updated 11/10.

Biographical/Historical: Bailey Brothers-General Merchandise was located at 4-6-8 South Market Street on the corner of Boscawen and Cameron Streets (now 30 S. Cameron Street), Winchester, VA, USA. Its owners were William A., Cecil, and Ora Bailey, all sons of Charles P. Bailey, a merchant and farmer of Green Spring.

Bailey’s opened for business in 1904 and closed its doors in May of 1951. Open every day but Sundays and holidays; the store was particularly crowded on Saturdays. Horses and buggies and wagons streamed in to the store bringing such home farm products as ham, lard, chickens, guineas, and grain to barter for other store goods. Bailey Brothers was equipped with everything a shopper needed from clothes and shoes to groceries and baked goods and candy. It was a one-stop shopping experience and friendly meeting place for people in Frederick County for nearly a half century.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Taken from the collection

CITE AS: Bailey Brothers Records Collection, 783 THL Stewart Bell Jr. Archives, Handley Regional Library, Winchester, VA.

Organization:

Box 1

Account books, 3 items, manuscript, bound
Sales, 1920
Accounts, 1925
Invoices, 1935

Bailey, W. A. - correspondence, 1942, 1 leaf, typescript

Bailey, W. A. - IRS form, 1941, 2 pages, manuscript on printed form