- Can I order a book from another library?
- Children and Adult Summer Reading
- How can I access local history?
- How can I have my exam proctored?
- How can I reserve the meeting room?
- How can I support my library?
- How do I download e-books?
- How do I get a library card?
- How do I put a reserve or hold on a book?
- How do I use the computers or Wi-fi at the library?
- How long can books & movies check out for?
How do I get a library card?
Library users must present a valid library card to check items out. All residents of the City of Coleman, Warren Township, Geneva Township and Edenville Township are eligible to register for a library card free of charge from the Coleman Area Library. In addition, Coleman Area Library has reciprocal borrowing with the Chippewa River District Libraries (Veterans, Shepherd, Faith Johnston and Tate), the Pere Marquette Library of Clare, the Surrey Library of Farwell and the Saginaw Chippewa Tribal Library. The Coleman Area Library may access these library's patron records to determine if the out-of-county resident is a library user in good standing.
To register for a library card, the applicant must show current proof of address on a valid Michigan Driver's License or a Michigan State ID card. New library users are allowed to check out materials at the time of registration, but will not have access to InterLibrary Loan materials during the first visit. Parents are required to sign a statement of responsibility for children under the age of 18. This must be signed by the legal guardian for the child. Grandparents, significant others, siblings or other relatives are not eligible to apply for these privileges for a child.
Library cards expire every four years, but can be renewed at no cost. Library cards that are not used in four years may be deleted from the system unless there is a fine on the account. Lost library cards can be replaced for a $2.00 fee.
General Information for New Library Card Holders:
- No more than 10 books or periodicals may be checked out on an adult card or 3 on a child’s card. For children under the age of 18, a parent or legal guardian with valid ID must apply in person with the child for a library card or internet use. Grandparents, significant others, siblings and other relatives are not eligible to apply for these privileges for a child.
- Adults may check out not more than 5 movies at one time. The charge is $1.00 for a one week rotation. Patrons will be charged a $0.50 per day for late DVD's.
- Most books may be checked out for 3 weeks. New books in high demand may be checked out for two weeks (14 days) and Periodicals are 1 week (7 days) check-out. Some special collection books may only be checked out for 1 week (7 days). Books may be renewed once if there are no reserves pending. You may renew in person or via our web page.
- Books and DVD's may be returned to either the outside drop box after library hours, or the inside drop box during normal business hours.
- All photo copies or printed pages from the computer are $0.10 each, single or double-sided.
- Faxing is available at the rate of $1.00 per page outgoing. Faxes may be sent only within the United States. The first three (3) incoming Fax pages are free, after that they are $.50 per page incoming.
- Reference service is available during normal library hours.
- No public telephone available for outgoing phone calls.
- A charge of $0.05 is made for each day a book or periodical is overdue.
- A charge of $0.50 is made for each day a DVD movie is overdue.
- A charge for overdue letters, to cover postage, supplies and time, is as follows: 1st notice no charge, 2nd (final) notice $2.00, Long overdue Invoice $3.00.
- A patron with over $5.00 in charges on his or her account or on an account linked with his or her household address will not have borrowing privileges until the entire charge has been cleared. Patrons with $35 or more in charges will be automatically reported to a credit collection agency. Patrons may speak to the library director regarding extenuating circumstances.