Reviews for A death in Eden

Library Journal
(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

The setting for the seventh installment of this outdoors series (after The Royal Wulff Murders) is the Smith River of central Montana. Home to spectacular scenery and world-class trout fishing, the river is at the center of a debate about a proposed copper mine that could negatively impact the purity of the water and damage the ecosystem. Sean Stranahan guides a float trip that includes both the leading opponent and the proponent of the mine and a documentary filmmaker to record their conversations. Also on the river is Sean's friend Harold Little Feather, who is investigating the appearance of scarecrows and antimine slogans posted along the waterway. Award-winning author McCafferty, who is also editor of Field and Stream, adroitly intertwines the stories of Sean and Harold as they, along with Sheriff Martha Ettinger, seek to discover the identity of a headless man found floating in the water, locate the creator of the scarecrows, find Harold's son who disappeared while enjoying the river, and determine how a vengeful and dangerous man who has been poaching bears in Yellowstone National Park figures into the overall scheme of events. Verdict Fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson will relish this page-turner. [See Prepub Alert, 1/8/18.]-Patricia Ann Owens, formerly with Illinois Eastern Community Coll., Mt. Carmel Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publishers Weekly
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

In McCafferty's enjoyable if flawed seventh outing for wilderness guide and PI Sean Stranahan (after 2017's Cold Hearted River), Sean rafts Montana's scenic Smith River with a TV reporter and two local men, childhood friends turned foes who represent opposing views of a copper mine proposed for the area. Meanwhile, Montana Division of Criminal Investigation agent Harold Little Feather and his 17-year-old son, Marcus, embark on a canoe trip in search of a mysterious man who has left scarecrows and anti-mine messages along the river. What appears a harmless, creative form of protest assumes sinister implications when Harold, Marcus, and the scarecrow-maker cross paths and later confront a murderous duo. McCafferty's passion for his wilderness setting, knowledge of fishing, and understanding of local issues combine to create a rich sense of place. Unfortunately, an array of both minor and significant continuity errors, from changing ages to inconsistent chronology, mar this entry. Fans will hope for a return to form next time. Agent: Dominick Abel, Dominick Abel Literary. (July) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Back